Software & Hardware Reviews

DJI Phantom 4 Drones, Puppet Parodies, Apple Watch, Anti-virus Software, Sports Action Cameras, Educational, Business and Entertainment Computer Software-Hardware Reviews

Oct. 2018 Vol 24 #10 . How to Stream Live on Youtube: Fast & Easy

Monthly software reviews and hardware reivews for business owners, parents and educators since 1995. We also review foreign language learning programs, Youtube Channel Help, TurboTax, DJI Phantom quadcopters & some computers & electronics.  Publishers and titles include Adobe Photoshop CS6, Adobe Dreamweaver CS6, Microsoft Office 2010, Rosetta Stone, Knowledge Adventure (Davidson) & more. HB. Note: some of our product reviews will appear on Amazon.com.

Recent Software Reviews from Cyber Times LLC

August 2018--15+ Tips to Help Your Youtube Channel Rock!
July 2018
--Snooping Around with Your Drone
June 2018--Fortnite Battle Royale: A Free HD Game from Epic Games
May 2018--Get a WiFi Thermostat. They're Cool!
April 2018--Protect Your Internet Privacy with Find-me-online.net and It's Tax Time
March 2018--Flying Your DJI Phantom 4 Drone in Winter Weather
February 2018--Publish on Amazon: It's Free and Easy
January 2018--What You Can't Do with Your Drone
December 2017--DJI Phantom 4 Drone Flying Car Simulation & Flying the Traffic Circles
November 2017--DJI Phantom 4 Drone Flying Around Town
October 2017--16MP Sports Action Camera with WiFi & Wireless Remote Control
September 2017--Some Great Free Photo and Video Resources on the Web
August 2017--Some Practical Uses for Your High Tech DJI Phantom Drone & the August 21st Solar Eclipse
July 2017--Fly Your Phantom 4, Plus, Drone Quadcopter Intelligently

How to Stream Live on Youtube: Fast & Easy

By Howard Berenbon

Youtube continues to enchance their platform, and one of the latest features allows easy live streaming. Anyone can go live to share anything they want (with some limits) on Youtube and connect with their subscribers in real time. Now, with their improved live streaming feature, you can do it in just 10 minutes. You just need to get the proper streaming software. Just so happens that there's a free software package called Open Broadcaster Studio, that will allow you to live stream right out of the box (okay, no box, it's a download) in 10 minutes or less. But, first before you download the software, you'll need to verify that your computer will handle the work. If you're into gaming, and have a gaming computer. It should be fast enough to do the trick. If not, make sure your computer is at least an Intel quad core I5 or equivalent machine so the software can take what you're displaying and send it through to Youtube in real time. Most middle level gaming machines can handle live streaming with OBS Studio, so if you're into gaming you've got the right hardware. And, Open Broadcaster will work on three platforms: Windows, Mac and Linux and those versions are available as a free download at http://obsproject.com. You'll need a camera to live stream, and I suggest a Logitech C920 HD 1080P Webcam with a built-in microphone. I use it, and it costs only $49.99 from Amazon and it works great.

Setup

Once you determine your computer system can handle the load, download the software from OBS Project. After installation, you can leave all settings at default, except two under the streaming settings in OBS Studio. Here you will enter your Youtube "stream/name key" found in the Youtube Creater Studio Live Dashboard Menu under "Encoder Key." In OBS Studio, you will also need to select Youtube/Youtube Gaming which in a box just above where you enter the stream/name key. Don't forget to click Apply and Ok after you enter the key. Then it's back to your Live Dashboard in Youtube. Here you'll set up your video title, description and you can add a thumbnail for your up coming live video, very important for visibility on Youtube.

OBS Source Selection

Once you've got your key entered into OBS, you'll need to prepare your sources for stream, which is under the soure menu in OBS Studio. I show the source selections for my channel in the Youtube video below. But here's what you do. First you create a Scene from the left menu and name it whatever you want. I've named my scene Youtubelive. Then you select sources for that scene. Start with selecting your Video Input Source, which is your camera. It will detect that on your computer. If it has a build-in microphone, you'll see that when you access your camera settings. When your camera is up on the screen, you can adjust the size by dragging at the corners of the square. And you can also position the camera on your screen. Then select the display type. I use the Display Capture, so whatever I have displayed on my computer monitor, that will be streamed along with the video source of me. If you want to stream video displayed on your screen, you'll probably want to stream the audio from that video, so you'll need to add another source: Audio Output Capture. That's about it to get you up and running with streaming on Youtube in 10 minutes or less. If you need more detailed instructions, several great tutorials are available at the OBS Studio Website, OBSproject.com. I also uploaded a short video entitled "How to Streaming Live Setup in Less Than 10 Minutes" and you can view it below.

Start Streaming

One more thing. To go live from OBS studio, after you've added your video Title and Description and an attractive thumbnail, you click on the Start Streaming button on the right side of the OBS Studio menu. When you're done, done forget to click Stop Streaming.

Youtube Creators Help Forum

If you started a Youtube channel and want to get help and advice on the "howtos" of running your channel, then subsribe to my channel, Cyber Times LLC where I have a new series entitled Youtube Creators Help Forum. If you like to see the current episodes, visit my channel, Youtube channel, Cyber Times LLC with this link and subscribe.

I also do some funny and odd puppet parodies if you like that kind of stuff, so please stop by. And subscribe! HB

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

If you like Cyber News & Reviews, please Like us on Facebook, Follow us on Twitter or link to us from your site.

Note: we are now publishing many of our product reviews on Amazon.com and eBay.com.

facebook cyber news twitter @HBerenbon

Link to us with the following code:

HTML

<a href="http://www.cyber-reviews.com">Cyber News & Software Reviews</a>

Navigation:

[Home][About Us][Archives][Contact][Kid's TV-Big Comfy Couch][Fix a Scratched LCD Display][Privacy Policy]

Interview at the Internet Advisor WJR 760am Detroit

I was interviewed by Gary Baker on the Internet Advisor show on News/Talk 760 am (a major station in the Detroit area). The podcast is online at http://internetadvisor.net/wp-content/uploads/2014/10/Podcast-1441-Oct.-11-2014.mp3

Visit our Sponsor Page

Find-Me-Online.net

Find & Delete Your Online Personal/Private Information

online privacy

cyber news